Hartmut Hoffmann

Prof. Dr.-Ing.

Former professor of forming and casting technology
TUM School of Engineering and Design

born May 24,1942

Link to Homepage including list of publications


Hartmut Hoffmann conducted research in the area of deformation and casting, and his motto has always been to tackle challenges with new, unconventional approaches. His department focused on deformation with a particular emphasis on sheet metal deformation of high-tensile materials and light metals. In the area of casting, he specialized in the continuous casting of non-ferrous metals, as well as the constrained virtual imaging of the entire casting process and material characterization, such as neutron imaging. With a team of up to 40 academics, Hartmut Hoffmann successfully attracted third-party funding for many years. More than 400 book and magazine publications, 40 patents and patent applications as well as more than 60 dissertations developed out of his research. He organized and hosted numerous academic conventions in production engineering. He was dean of the Department of Mechanical Engineering from 2001 to 2005, and director of the newly established company TUM International GmbH until 2010. He is a member of many technological/academic academies and societies and continued to be active as a consultant for the German Research Foundation (DFG), the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research, the Federal Ministry of Economic Affairs and Energy and the Bavarian Research Foundation. He also serves on the board of management, board of directors, advisory board and as director of many organizations and companies.


Short biography

1961 – 1967 Study of mechanical engineering and manufacturing, Technische Universität Berlin
1968 – 1978 Employee at L. Schuler GmbH, Göppingen – position at end of employment: head
of department and executive
1973 Doctorate (Dr.-Ing.), Technical University of Berlin
1974 - 1977 Lecturer for Production Engineering at Aalen University of Applied Sciences

1978 – 1994

Professor of forming, non-cutting machine and machine tool technology,
Heilbronn Technical College, continued employment as executive at Schuler in the
research department
1978 - 1997 Freelancer at L. Schuler GmbH, Göppingen,
responsible for areas of research and development
1981 Call to University of Duisburg, Chair of Forming Technology and Forming Machines (rejected)
1994 – 2011 Professor of forming and casting technology and head of the Institute for Materials
and Processing, TUM
2001 - 2005 Dean of the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering at the Technical University of Munich


Memberships and honors (Selection)

Member (since 1995) and chair (2007-2010) of the Working Group on Forming Technology (AGU)

Reviewer of the "Deutsche Forschungsgesellschaft (1996-2012)

Reviewer of the German Ministries "Bundesministeriums für Forschung und Technologie" (BMFT), of the "Bundesminiteriums für Wirtschaft und Technologie" (BMWi) and the Bavarian "Bayerischen Forschungsstiftung" (BFS) (1998-2011)

Member of the German Academic Society for Production Engineering (WGP) (since 1998)

Member of the International Deep Drawing Research Group (IDDRG) (1998-2011)

Associated Member of the International Academy for Production Engineering (CIRP) (2000-2021)

Member of the board of management and executive committee of the German Foundrymen Association (VDG) (2002-2011)

Member of the National Academy of Science and Engineering (acatech) (since 2002)

Member of the board of management of the Agency for Quality Assurance through Accreditation of Study Programs (AQAS) (2003-2007)

Manager at the Association of German Engineers (VDI), Upper Bavaria and Austria (2007-2016)

Member of the research advisory board of the European Research Association for Sheet Metal Working EFB (2008-2016)

Member of the academic advisory board of the Free University of Bozen-Bolzano (2011-2014), Lecturer "Productionsystems" (2008,2010)

Member of the Review Board of the German Research Foundation (DFG) (2008-2012)

Assessor for the Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG) (since 2011)

Assessor for the Austrian Federal Ministry for Transport, Innovation and Technology (BMVIT) (since 2012)

Member of the board of directors of Schuler AG, Göppingen (2003-2013)

Member of the judging panel for awards and distinctions at the Fraunhofer society (since 2004)

Judge of “Jugend forscht” finalists, Bavaria (2007-2011)

Founder (1998) and director (since 2011) of the Entwicklungsgesellschaft für Umformtechnik und Gießereiwesen mbH, Erding

Founding Managing Director of TUM International GmbH, München (2008-2010)

Member of the advisory board of the Arnold Umformtechnik GmbH & Co. KG, Forchtenberg-Ernsbach (2011-2017)

Member of the advisory board of the Hubert Schlieckmann GmbH, Marienfeld (2013-2020)

Reviewer and jury chair (2014-2016) of the Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG) for the programme "Production of the Future" (since 2014)


Visiting professor, University of Nanjing, China (1986, 1988)



  • Medal of Honor for outstanding achievement in his degree, TU Berlin (1968)
  • Steel Innovation Prize (2009)
  • TUM Emeritus of Excellence (2012)
  • Erich-Siebel-Memomiral Coin (2016)

You can download "Explanations of honors and awards" here [PDF215 KB]