Jörg Eberspächer

Prof. Dr.-Ing.

Former professor of communication networks
TUM School of Computation, Information and Technology

born October 8, 1945



The name Jörg Eberspächer is closely associated with research in the field of telecommunications networks and systems. His work focuses on the architectures of future optical and mobile networks, the future of the Internet, applications of communication technology and the social aspects of information technology.

In 1990, after 13 years of leading work in industry with research work on broadband networks, local area networks and intelligent networks, he was appointed to the newly founded Chair for Communication Networks at the Technical University of Munich. The boom in communication technology (mobile radio, Internet, etc.) also shaped his broadly oriented research and teaching. The focus was on the development and investigation of new switching methods and systems for optical and wireless networks, self-organizing networks and methods for planning fail-safe networks as well as the application of network technologies, for example in vehicles. For three years Jörg Eberspächer was chairman of the Informationstechnische Gesellschaft (ITG) in the Verband der Elektrotechnik Elektronik Informationstechnik (VDE), which awarded him honorary membership in 2006 and appointed him ITG Fellow in 2018. From 2002 to 2005 he was Dean of his faculty. He attaches great importance to the interdisciplinary discourse on new information technologies, which he has dedicated himself to in the Münchner Kreis, the VDE and the two national academies Leopoldina and acatech. For many years, Jörg Eberspächer has been intensively involved in the promotion and mentoring of students and young scientists, including in the Center for Digital Technology and Management (CDTM), which he co-founded, as chairman of the Förderverein der Fakultät EIKON e.V. and as a member of the Rohde Foundation Board of Trustees. Since 2015, he has been deputy speaker ot the TUM Senior Excellence Faculty.


Short biography

1965 – 1970 Study of electrical engineering, University of Stuttgart
1971 – 1977 Research associate in Department of Telecommunications Engineering, University of Stuttgart
1976 Doctorate in electrical engineering, University of Stuttgart
1977 – 1990 Managerial positions in research and development, Siemens AG
1990 – 2012 Professor of communication networks, TUM
since 2015 Deputy Speaker TUM Senior Excellence Faculty


Memberships and honors

Senior member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), USA (since 1990)

Member of the “Münchner Kreis e. V.”, a non-profit, supranational organization for communications research (since 1991), chair of the Research Commitee (1993-2014) 

Co-founder of the Center for Digital Technology and Management (CDTM), Munich (since 1998)

Member of the board of management (1997-2002) and chair (2000-2002) of the Information Technology Society (ITG) of the Association for Electrical, Electronic and Information Technologies (VDE) e.V.

Visiting professor, Tongji University, China (2000-2012)

Member of the advisory board at the Scientific Institute for Infrastructure and Communication Services GmbH (WIK), Bad Godesberg (since 2000-2019)

Chair of the board of trustees of the Fraunhofer Heinrich-Hertz-Institut (HHI), Berlin (2003-2015)

Member of the board of trustees of the Fraunhofer Institute for Open Communication Systems (FOKUS), Berlin (2002-2014)

Member of the academic advisory board of the German Museum, Munich (2005-2016)

Member of the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina (since 2005)

Chair of the academic advisory board of Lakeside Labs, Klagenfurt, Austria (2008-2017)

Chairman of the Alumni Association EIKON e.V. of the TUM School of Computation, Information and Technology (since 2008)

Member of the National Academy of Science and Engineering (acatech) (since 2009)

Member of the Board of Trustees of the Lothar-and-Sigrid-Rohde-Foundation (since 2017)


Research projects

Coordinator of the German Research Foundation (DFG) priority program 1102: Adaptivity in Heterogenous Networks with Wireless Access (2000-2006)

Participation in the DFG Collaborative Research Centre Transregio TR-28: Cognitive Cars – Kognimobil (2005-2010)

Participation in various research projects of the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (2003-2012)



  • Oskar von Miller Prize from the German Museum, Munich (2004)
  • Honorary member of the VDE (2006)
  • Society Award from the Information Technology Society (ITG) (2012)
  • Fraunhofer Medal of the Fraunhofer Society (2015)
  • Appointment as Fellow of the Informationstechnische Gesellschaft (ITG)

You can download "Explanations of honors and awards" here [PDF 215 KB] 


Key publications

Eberspächer J, Kiese M, Wessäly R: “Optimization of Communication Networks”. In: Production Factor Mathematics. Editor: Grötschel, M u. Mehrmann, V 2010; Seite 139-156.

Hanka O, Spleiß C, Kunzmann G, Eberspächer J: “A novel DHT-based network architecture for the Next Generation Internet”. In: Eighth International Conference on Networks . Editor: Dini P. 2009 Seite 332-341.

Eberspächer J, Vögel H-J, Bettstetter C, Hartmann C: GSM - Switching, Services and Protocols. Chichester: John Wiley & Sons, 2008.

Nagel R, Eichler S, Eberspächer J: “Intelligent Wireless Communication for Future Autonomous and Cognitive Automobiles”. In: Proc. IEEE Intelligent Vehicles Symposium (IV) . Editor: IEEE. 2007 Seite 716-721.

Eberspächer J, Schollmeier R: “First and second generation of peer-to-peer systems”. In: Peer-to-Peer Systems and Applications. Editor: Steinmetz R u. Wehrle K. 2005; Seite 35-56.