Peter Russer

Prof. Dr. techn. Dr. h.c.

Former professor of high frequency engineering
TUM School of Computation, Information and Technology

born May 7, 1943



The areas in which Peter Russer concentrated his academic work are diverse, encompassing high frequency engineering, electronics and optoelectronics. After writing his dissertation on the AC Josephson effect, he started work in 1971 on optical broadband data transmission at the AEG-Telefunken Research Institute in Ulm. Under his direction, the world’s first digital broadband optical fiber transmission segment was realized, with a transmission rate of 1Gbit/s; he made a fundamental contribution to the theory of noise interference in electronic circuits and broadband modulation of semiconductor lasers. In 1981, Peter Russer accepted an appointment at TUM, where he was able to influence the field of high frequency engineering significantly on a national as well as an international scale. His theoretical and experimental work covers a large area that reaches from the development of methods to calculate electromagnetic fields, through integrated microwave and millimeter wave circuitry and static noise analysis in microwave circuitry, to methods of computer-aided design of microwave circuits and antennas. His great passion for passing on knowledge is evidenced in the numerous textbooks he wrote. Peter Russer is the author of more than 900 academic publications and the holder of more than 60 patents. At university, he excelled as a teacher and researcher who often managed to combine knowledge, teaching and practice very effectively. Moreover, he was successful in founding two spin-off companies in microwave engineering and EMI measurement technology. 


Short biography

1961 – 1967 Studies in electrical engineering, Vienna University of Technology
1968 – 1971 Research assistant, Institut für Physikalische Elektrotechnik, Vienna University of Technology
1971 Doctorate, Vienna University of Technology
1971 – 1980 Research associate, AEG-Telefunken Research Institute, Ulm
1992 – 1995 Director, Ferdinand-Braun-Institute for High Frequency Technology (FBH), Berlin
1994 Appointment to the Technische Universität Berlin
1981 – 2008 Professor of high frequency engineering, TUM


Memberships and honors

Member of the German Physical Society (DPG) (since 1971)

Member of the Austrian Physical Society (since 1971)

Member of the German Information Technology Society (ITG) (since 1974)

Senior member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) (since 1981)

Vice President (1999-2002) and President (2002-2005) of Commission D: Electronics and Photonics of the International Union of Radio Science (URSI)

Member of the German Research Foundation’s senate committee for Collaborative Research Centers (2000-2005)

Member of the National Academy of Science and Engineering (acatech) (since 2006)

Chair of the IEEE MTT-15 Microwave Field Theory technical committee (2005-2008)

Director of the project nanoelectronics group in the nanotechnology network, acatech (since 2008)

Member of the board of directors of the European Microwave Association (1997-2004, 2007-2008)

Member of the program and organizational committees of various international conferences, such as the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Symposium, European Microwave Conference


Visiting professorships

University of Ottawa, Ontario, Canada (1990)

University of Victoria, British Columbia, Canada (1993)



  • Prize of the Information Technology Society (ITG) (1979)
  • Peter Johns Prize for the best publication in 1990 in the International Journal of Numerical Modeling (1991)
  • Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) (1994)
  • Distinguished educator award from the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (MTT-S) (2006)
  • Honorary doctorate from the Moscow University of Aerospace Technology, Moscow Aviation Institute (2007)
  • Distinguished service award from the European Microwave Association (2009)
  • Ring of Honor from the Association for Electrical, Electronic and Information Technologies (VDE) (2010)
  • Pioneer award from the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (2012)
  • IEEE Life Fellow (2013)
  • Medal of Honour from teh Association of Electrical, Electronic and Information Technologies (VDE) (2016)
  • Fellow of the International Union of Radio Science (U.R.S.I.) (2017)

You can download "Explanations of honors and awards" here [PDF 215 KB]