Ingolf Ruge

Prof. Dr.-Ing.

Former professor of integrated circuitry
TUM School of Computation, Information and Technology

born December 22, 1934



As a frequent pioneer in his professional function, Ingolf Ruge sometimes had to tread the path less traveled. With the support of the Federal German Ministry of Research and Technology (BMFT), he was a significant contributor to the successful development of the semiconductor division and the development of microelectronics in German industry. He initiated a large national research and development project that, among other things, raised the global ranking of the semiconductor division of one company from 16 to 4. In 1973, he founded his first Fraunhofer Institute: the Institute of Solid State Technology; in 1999, his second followed: the Institute of Communications Systems. Despite his extensive services in management, Ingolf Ruge was an enthusiastic and inspiring teacher at university level: 170 dissertations, from which more than a dozen university professors emerged, bear witness to this. His great commitment to academic politics is apparent in his lengthy membership of the Scientific-Technical Advisory Board (WTB) of the Bavarian state government and the IT advisory boards of Federal German chancellors Schröder and Merkel.

Short biography

1953 – 1958 Studies in electrical engineering, TH Munich
1964  Doctorate in semiconductor electronics, TH Munich
1967 University teaching qualification (habilitation) in semiconductor physics, TH Munich
1968 – 1971 Director of the Department of Semiconductor Engineering, Institute for
Technical Electronics, TH Munich
1970 Appointment to Ruhr University, Bochum
1973 – 1999 Founding director of the Fraunhofer Institute of Solid State Technology, Munich
1972 – 2003 Founding director of the Fraunhofer Institute of Communications Systems, Munich
1999 – 2003 Professor of integrated circuitry, TUM


Memberships and honors

Member of the Advisory Board for Research and Higher Education Issues of of the Bavarian State Minister of Education and Cultural Affairs (1982-1988)

Member of the Scientific-Technical Advisory Board (WTB) of the Bavarian state government

Member of the advisory board of the Bavarian Research Foundation (1994-2001)

Member of Federal German Chancellor Schröder’s IT advisory board (2000-2005)

Spokesperson for the Bavarian Online-Congress (1998-2007)

Member of the UN Office of Information and Communication Technology (OICT) (2001-2010)

Member of the AG II at Chancellor Merkel’s IT Summit (2006-2011)



  • German Federal Cross of Merit (1987)
  • Bavarian Order of Merit (1992)
  • Officer’s Cross from the Federal Republic of Germany (1993)
  • Commander’s Cross of the Federal Republic of Germany (2004)
  • “Unternehmer-Ehrenzeichen” from the Board of Trustees of the Bavarian Business Association (vbw) (2008)

You can download "Explanations of honors and awards" here [PDF 215 KB]