Heinz Höfler

Prof. Dr. med.

Former director of the Institute for Pathology and Pathological Anatomy
TUM School of Medicine

Former director of the Institute for Pathology, Helmholtz-Zentrum Neuherberg

born January 7, 1949



Professor Höfler was the director of the Institute for Pathology andPathological Anatomy at TUM and director of the Institute for Pathologyat the Helmholtz Centre in Neuherberg. He made the TU Institutewhat it is today, bringing it up to date in the areas of medical care, researchand teaching, as well as playing a leading role in the modern orientation ofthe TUM Faculty of Medicine. Thanks to Professor Höfler, the Institute forPathology at TUM took on a leading role amongst the pathological institutesin Europe. Over the years, Professor Höfler has been a member of the TUMacademic senate, a dean of the TUM Faculty of Medicine, and the presidentof the scientific advisory board of the Research Centre for EnvironmentalHealth (GSF, Helmhotz Zentrum München). He is currently active as a memberof the scientific advisory board of numerous foundations, and works asan expert for the German Research Foundation and German Cancer Aid. Hewas also the president of the German Society for Pathology, the Society ofHisto-chemistry, as well as several international expert associations, and editor-in-chief of the journal “Virchows Archiv”. Since 2000, Professor Höfler hasbeen the vice-chair of the DAP (Deutsches Akkreditierungssystem PrüfwesenGmbH) sector committee for pathology and is, in this capacity, responsiblefor the guidelines and implementation of accreditation at pathologicalinstitutes.


Short biography

1967 – 1974 Medical Degree, Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz, Austria
1981 Habilitation and medical specialist certification, Graz University, Austria
1986 Head of the Department of Oncology and Cell Biology, Pathological Institute, Graz University,Austria
1987 Appointment as an outstanding university professor for pathology, Graz University, Austria
1988 – 2015 Director of the Institute for Pathology at the Helmholtz-Centre Neuherberg/Munich
1989 – 2015 Director and professor at the Institute for Pathology and Pathological Anatomy at the TUM
1997 – 1999 Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, TUM


Memberships and honors

GSF chairman of the scientific-technical advisory board (until 2007: Research Centre for Environmental Health)

Member of the German Academy for Natural Sciences “Leopoldina” (since 1999)

Vice chairman of the scientific advisory board of the Wilhelm-Sander-Foundation (2007-2019)

Chairman of the scientific advisory board of the Wlater Schulz Foundation (since 2010)

Honorary member of the Austrian Society of Pathology

Editor of the Journal “Virchows Archiv” (2001-2011)



  • Hoechst-Prize for Medicine (1986, 1988 and 1991)
  • Sandoz-Prize for Medicine (1987)
  • A. Wewalka-Prize by the Austrian Society for Gastroenterology (1990)
  • Roll of Honor of the International Union against Cancer (UICC) (1997)
  • Alexis Carrel Prize for Vascular Surgery (1998)
  • Austrian Cross of Honor for Science and Art of the first order (2004)

You can download "Explanations of honors and awards" here [PDF 215 KB]