Arnulf Melzer

Prof. Dr.

Former professor of Limnology
TUM School of Life Sciences

born 18.09.1947



Prof. Melzer's research focuses on the ecology and physiology of aquatic plants, the biological assessment of rivers and lakes, investigations into reed decline and the consequences of climate change on aquatic systems. After studying agricultural sciences at the TUM and biology at the University of Freiburg, Prof. Melzer obtained his doctorate at the TUM (1976) and worked as an academic advisor at the Institute of Botany and Microbiology at the TUM. After his habilitation (1989) he was appointed to the associate professor for special botany (1991) and finally to the asscociate professor for Limnology (1995). From 1986 to 2001 he established the limnological station of the TUM in Iffeldorf, which he led until 2012. In addition, Prof. Melzer was Vice President of the TUM (1997 to 2003) and accompanied the reconstruction of the Science Center Weihenstephan as well as the establishment of the department of Sports Science in his function as founding dean. Since 1999 he has led the fundraising campaign of the TUM and since 2004 he has been the president's representative for fundraising. Furthermore, Prof. Melzer has been a member of the University Council of the Hochschule für Musik FRANZ LISZT Weimar since 2010 and its chairman since 2016. Since 2010, he has also been Deputy Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the TUM University Foundation.


Short biography

1969 - 1973 Studies in Agricultural Sciences, TU Munich
1973 - 1976 Doctorate as Dr. -Ing. agr., TU Munich
1975 - 1978 Studies and degree: Dipl. -Biol. University Freiburg
1978 - 1991 Academic advisor at the Institute of Botany and Microbiology, TU Munich
1986 - 2001 Construction of the limnological station Iffeldorf, TU Munic
1990 Call for a C4-professorship, University Hohenheim
1991 - 1995 Former professor for special botany at the Institute for Botany and Microbiology, TU Munich
1995 - 2015 Former professor of limnology and head of the Department of Limnology and Retirement, TU Munich
1997 - 2003 Vice-president, TU Munich
since 2004 Representative of the president for fundraising, TU Munich


Memberships and honors

TU Munich, founding dean of the Department of Sports Sciences (2000-2001)

TU Munich, representative of the president for fundraising (since 2004)

Collaboration in TUM-related foundations: Anneliese Pfannenberg-Foundation (foundation board), Peter Pribilla-Foundation (Member of the foundation advisory board), Dr. Gertrude Krombolz-Foundation (Chairman of the foundation advisory board), Joseph and Sonja Ströbl-Foundation (Chairman of the Board), Johannes B. Ortner-Foundation (Chairman of the Board of Trustees) as well as in the student initiative Campus for Change e.V. (Advisory Board) and the Gerhard Winklhofer Bildungswerke e.V. (Advisory Board)

University Council of the Franz Liszt School of Music, Weimar (since 2010)

Deputy Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the TUM University Foundations (2010-2020)


  • Bruno H. Schubert-Prize (1985)
  • Paulaner-Research-Award "Reines Wasser" ("pure water") (1987)
  • Merit cross with ribbon of the federal republic of Germany
  • Honorary member of the german limnological society (2012)
  • Golden Ring of Honor (2019)

You can download "Explanations of honors and awards" here [PDF 215 KB]