Arndt Bode

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c.

Former professor of Computer Engineering and Computer Organization
TUM School of Computation, Information and Technology

born September 20, 1948



Arndt Bode is one of the world's leading representatives of computer architecture and technical computer science. He has played a major part in the various development stages of parallel computers up to today's powerful parallel computer architectures, which ultimately form the basis for the success of high-performance computing (HPC) in most areas of science (natural sciences, engineering, life sciences, more recently also economics, etc.).
He was involved in methods and concepts of computer-aided teaching at an early stage. During his time as Vice President and CIO of TUM, he focused on topics such as efficient IT management at universities or modern IT infrastructures. He co-initiated a corresponding DFG funding programme and set international standards with the IntegraTUM project. With his membership in the board of directors of the Leibniz Supercomputing Centre (LRZ), energy efficiency and green IT have been added as further focal points of his work, also with high national and international visibility and economic as well as social relevance. During his term of office, the further development of the LRZ from a classical data centre to a modern comprehensive IT service and information centre was driven forward and the course was set for the growing tasks of the LRZ in the age of digitalisation. A central, if not the central, field of Arndt Bode's activities and merits, however, is unquestionably the field of high-performance computing (HPC). Over the past ten years, his constant and highly competent work in a wide variety of committees has made a significant contribution to Germany's excellent international and Bavarian national standing in this field, which is very important for the competitiveness of the Bavarian/German science and industry.


Short biography

1966 – 1972 Study of Computer Sciences (Diplominformatik), Technical University Karlsruhe
1975 Doctorate (Dr. rer. nat), Technical University Karlsruhe
1984 Habilitation as "Dr.-Ing. habil.", Friedrich-Alexander-University Erlangen-Nürnberg
1986 – 1987 Professor of Computer Science, Friedrich-Alexander-University Erlangen-Nürnberg  
1987 – 2017 Full Professor of Computer Technology and Computer Organisation, TU Munich
1999 – 2008 Vice President and CIO, TU Munich
since 2007  Full Member of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities
2008 – 2017 Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Leibniz Supercomputing Centre, Munich
since 2015 Vice President of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities
2017 – 2019 Member of the Board of Directors of the Leibniz Supercomputing Centre, Munich
since 2018 President of the Bavarian Research Foundation


Memberships and honors

Full Member of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities, since 2015 Vice President

Member of the Board of Directors of the Leibniz Supercomputing Centre, Munich, 2008 – 2017 Chairman of the Board

Member of the GÉANT Expert Group „2020 Vision for European Research & Education Networking“

Member of the Comission for IT-Infrastructur (KfR) of the German Research Foundation DFG (1999 – 2005)

Member of the Advisory Board for Computer Systems (BAR) of the Max-Planck-Society

Member of the IT Advisory Board of the University Vienna

Editor-in-chief of the magazine „Informatik-Spektrum“, the leading computer science magazine in Germany (1999 – 2019)

Subproject leader and spokesperson of SFB 342: Tools and Methods for Parallel Computer Architectures (1990 – 2000)

Member of the Board of Trustees of the Alpen Adria University Klagenfurt (2008 – 2013)

Delegate in the Council of the Partnership for Advanced Computing in Europe PRACE (2010 – 2017)



  • Wolfgang-Finkelnburg Habilitation Award (1985)
  • Euro-Par Achievement Award (2013)
  • Konrad Zuse Medal of the German Informatics Society (2015)
  • Gold Medal, Yerevan State University (2016)
  • Two PRACE ISC Awards
  • Dr. h. c., National Academy of Sciences, Republic of Armenia (2016)
  • Intel HPC Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany (2018)

You can download "Explanations of honors and awards" here [PDF 215 KB]