Jürgen Beckmann

Prof. Dr.

Former chair of sport psychology
TUM Department of Sport and Health Sciences

born March 5, 1955

juergen.beckmann(at)tum.de

Detailed CV and publications (download pdf 330 KB)

Scientific work

Originally, Professor Beckmann focused on basic research in the field of motivation and volition. A major aim was to identify processes bridging the gap between motivation (intentions) and action. Based on this research applied perspectives on stabilizing performance in different areas were developed which eventually lead to a focus on performance processes in sports. A research direction was established that addresses performance decrements under stress conditions (choking under pressure) and their neurophysiological basis. This research resulted in the development of interventions to stabilize performance in stressful situations such as sport competitions.

Complimentary to this line of research Michael Kellmann as collaborator of Professor Beckmann at Potsdam University started a research programme on recovery. Meanwhile, it has been recognized that only those who are properly recovered can perform at their best. Michael Kellmann, now professor at the Ruhr University Bochum, has become one of the world's most renowned recovery researchers. The fruitful collaboration between Beckmann and Kellmann over the past 25 years is continuing, probably for the next 10 years, because in 2020 the British publisher Routledge signed a contract with both of them to publish an annual book on "Advances in Recovery Research: Interdisciplinary Insights".

Another topic has recently been added. At the beginning of 2018, Prof Beckmann gave a lecture at the German Heart Center in Munich (DHM) on “Motivation and self-confidence, anxiety and fear management in chronic diseases”. The presentation was followed by a detailed discussion with people with congenital heart defects who were present at the lecture. Research on the psychological situation of people with congenital heart defects was scarce at the time, and psychological care was practically non-existent. In the meantime, the psychocardiology working group at the DHM, headed by Prof. Beckmann, has published eight research papers on the topic and has started to develop psychocardiological care at the DHM.

When Prof. Beckmann became Dean of the Faculty of Sports Science in 2008, seven professors were responsible for teaching over 2000 students. The Dean’s main task was to increase the number of professorships at the faculty and to strengthen scientific output and internationality. This was only possible by expanding the subject area of the faculty with an inclusion of health sciences. In view of the increasing problem of a ‘sedentary society’ with the resulting civilization diseases, the combination of sport and health appeared to be an important, future-oriented orientation for the faculty. At the end of Prof. Beckmann's second term in office, the now Faculty of Sport and Health Sciences had grown to 12 professorships and to date has 16 primary professorships.

All of the research activities involved the development of young scientists. Prof. Beckmann describes the extremely fruitful collaboration with them as one of the most rewarding aspects of work at the university: “I am particularly pleased that meanwhile six of my more than 40 former graduate students have been appointed professors themselves."

 

Short biography

since 2021 Development of an Academy for Young Executives for starcode GmbH
2020 - 2021 Faculty Internationalization Officer TUM Dept. Sport and Health Sciences
2008 - 2013 Dean of TUM Dept. of Sport and Health Sciences
2006 - 2021 Professor (Full) and Chair of Sport Psychology, Dept. of Sport and Health Sciences TUM
2006 - 2021 Member of the Department Council of Dept. Sport and Health Sciences, TUM
1999 - 2002 Director of the Institute of Sport Science of the University of Potsdam
1998 - 2002 Member of the Senate Committee for Research of the University of Potsdam
1998 - 2002 Member of the Department Council of Dept. Human Sciences of the University of Potsdam
1997 - 2006 Associate Professor of Sport Psychology, Institute of Sport Science, University of Potsdam
1993 Visiting Scholar at Florida Atlantic University U.S.A. (Center for Complex Systems)
1990 - 1995 Heisenberg Scholarship, German Research Foundation (DfG)
1988 Habilitation in Psychology (University of Mannheim and Ludwig-Maximilians-University
Munich in 1992), (Doctor Habil. Venia Legendi for Psychology
1984 - 1990 Senior Researcher Max-Planck-Institute for Psychological Research (Munich)
1984 PhD Psychology, Unviversity of  Mannheim; Thesis Topic:
Kognitive Dissonanz. Eine handlungstheoretische Perspektive
1984 PhD in Psychology, University of Mannheim
1980 Diploma in Social Sciences (Major in Psychology)
at Ruhr-University Bochum; Thesis Topic: Popper's Logic of the Situation as an
explanatory model for the social sciences

 

Memberships and honors

Member of Recognition Committee for EuroPsy Specialist Certificate in Sport Psychology on behalf of German Psychological Society (since 2021)

Chair of President’s Visiting Committee of the University of Alberta, Canada (2014-2017)

Member of Scientific Advisory Board of the Department of Nutrition, Exercise and Sport Sciences, University of Copenhagen, Denmark, (2015-2016)

President German Association of Sport Psychology ASP (2005-2009), Board Mebmer (1998-2005), Member (since 1998)

President German Association Snowsport at Universities (2002-2004)

Member of American Psychological Association (APA) (1986-2010)

Member of German Psychological Society (DGPs) (since 1984)

 

Awards

  • TUM Emeritus of Excellence (2021)
  • Adjunct Professor, University of Limerick, Ireland (2020)
  • Golden Badge of Honour awarded by German Society of Sport Psychology (asp) (2019)
  • Honorary Professor, University of Queensland, Australia (2018)
  • Adjunct Professor, Southwest Jiaotong University, Sichuan, PR China (2007)
  • Silver Badge of Honour awarded by German Ski Association (DSV) (2003)       
  • Heisenberg Scholarship of German Research Foundation (1990)
  • Young Scientist Award (German Psychological Association) (DGPs) (1984)

You can download "Explanations of honors and awards" here [PDF 215 KB]

 

10 key publications

Andonian, C., Freilinger, S., Achenbach,S., Ewert, P., Gundlach, U., Hörer, J., Kaemmerer, H., Pieper, L., Weyand, M., Neidenbach, R., & Beckmann, J. (in press). The "Well-being paradox" revisited: A cross-sectional study of quality of life in over 4,000 adults with congenital heart disease. BMJ Open.

Wergin, V.V., Zimanyi, Z., Mesagno, C., & Beckmann, J. (2018). When Suddenly Nothing Works Anymore Within a Team – Causes of Collective Sport Team Collapse. Frontiers in Psychology, 9: 2115 doi: 10.3389/fpsyg.2018.02115.

Andonian, C., Beckmann, J., Biber, S., Ewert, P., Freilinger, S., Kaemmerer, H., Oberhoffer, R., Pieper, L., & Neidenbach, R.C. (2018). Current Research Status on the Psychological Situation of Adults with Congenital Heart Disease (ACHD).  Cardiovascular Diagnosis and Therapy, 8(6):799-804. doi: 10.21037/cdt.2018.12.06

Kellmann, M., Bertollo, M., Bosquet, L., Brink, M., Coutts, A., Duffield, R., Erlacher, D., Halson, S., Hecksteden, A., Heidari, J., Kallus, W., Meeusen. R., Mujika, I., Robazza, C., Skorski, S., Venter, R., & Beckmann, J. (2018). Recovery and performance: Consensus statement. International Journal of Sports Physiology and Performance, 13, 240-245.

Mirifar, A., Beckmann, J., & Ehrlenspiel, F. (2017). Neurofeedback as Supplementary Training for Optimizing Athletes’ Performance: A Systematic Review with Implications for Future Research. Neuroscience and Biobehavioral Reviews, 75, 419-432.

Cross-Villasana, F., Gröpel, P., Doppelmayr, M. & Beckmann, J. (2015). Unilateral Left-Hand Contractions Produce Widespread Depression of Cortical Activity after Their Execution. PloS One, 10 (12), DOI: 10.1371/journal.pone.0145867.

Beckmann, J., Gröpel, P., & Ehrlenspiel, F. (2013). Preventing motor skill failure through hemisphere – specific priming. Cases from choking under pressure. Journal of Experimental Psychology. General, 142, 679-691.

Nixdorf, I., Frank, R., Hautzinger, M. & Beckmann, J. (2013). Prevalence and determinants of depression in German high achievement athletes. Journal of Clinical Sport Psychology, 7(4), 313-326

Kuhl, J. & Beckmann, J. (Eds.) (1994). Volition and personality: Action and state orientation. Seattle: Hogrefe & Huber Publishers.

Kuhl, J. & Beckmann, J. (Eds.) (1985). Action control: From cognition to behavior. Heidelberg, Berlin, New York: Springer.

Jürgen Beckmann

Prof. Dr.

Ehemaliger Ordinarius für Sportspychologie
Fakultät für Sport- und Gesundheitswissenschaften

geb. 05.03.1955

juergen.beckmann(at)tum.de

Ausführlicher CV und Publikationsübersicht (Download pdf 330 KB)

Wissenschaftliche Arbeit

Die Forschungsschwerpunkte von Prof. Beckmann waren zunächst eher grundlagenorientiert im Bereich von Motivation und Volition (Wille) verbunden mit der Frage, wie die Lücke zwischen Motivation (Absichten) und Handeln überwunden werden kann. Daraus entwickelte sich eine anwendungsorientierte Forschungsrichtung zu Leistungsprozessen in verschiedenen Bereichen, die dann in die Sportpsychologie führte. Hier wurde eine Forschungsrichtung etabliert, die sich mit dem Versagen unter Stressbedingungen (choking under pressure) und deren neurophysiologischen Grundlagen befasst. Über diese Forschung konnten auch Interventionen entwickelt werden, mit deren Hilfe sich Handeln in Stresssituationen stabilisieren lassen kann.

In diesen Zusammenhang gehört auch die Forschung zum Thema Erholung, die Michael Kellmann als Assistent von Prof. Beckmann an der Universität Potsdam begann. Es hat sich inzwischen die Erkenntnis durchgesetzt, dass nur wer richtig erholt ist, volle Leistung bringen kann. Michael Kellmann, Professor an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum, gehört mittlerweile zu den weltweit renommiertesten Erholungsforschern. Die fruchtbare Zusammenarbeit von Beckmann und Kellmann über die letzten 25 Jahre wird wohl auch noch die nächsten 10 Jahre fortgesetzt, denn der Routledge Verlag hat 2020 mit beiden einen Vertrag geschlossen, jährlich ein Buch über „Advances in Recovery Research: Interdisciplinary Insights“ herauszugeben.

Mit dem Thema Erholung hängt auch ein weiteres Forschungsfeld zusammen, mit dem die Forschungsgruppe von Beckmann im Jahre 2008, kurz vor dem Suizid des Fußballtorhüters Robert Enke begann. Hier wird die psychische Situation von Spitzensportlern thematisiert. Zunächst wurde die Prävalenz von Depression und Burnout untersucht. Eine 2013 im Journal of Clinical Sport Psychology erschienene Arbeit gehört zu den vielzitierten Standardwerken. Im Laufe der letzten 10 Jahre rückte dann der Präventionsgedanke in den Vordergrund. Der Routledge Verlag trat an Beckmann und Mitarbeiter heran, das „Routledge Handbook of Athletes‘ Mental Health and Well-Being“ herauszugeben. Dieses wird voraussichtlich in 2022 erscheinen.

Unlängst kam noch ein weiteres Thema hinzu. Anfang 2018 hielt Prof Beckmann am Deutschen Herzzentrum in München (DHM) einen Vortrag über „Motivation und Selbstvertrauen, Angst und Angstbewältigung bei chronischen Erkrankungen“. Daran schloss sich eine ausführliche Diskussion mit beim Vortrag anwesenden Menschen mit angeborenen Herzfehlern an. Der Forschungsstand zur psychischen Situation von Menschen mit angeborenen Herzfehlern war zum damaligen Zeitpunkt sehr dürftig, eine psychologische Versorgung praktisch nicht gegeben. Inzwischen hat die Arbeitsgruppe Psychokardiologie am DHM unter Leitung von Prof. Beckmann 8 Forschungsarbeiten zum Thema veröffentlicht und begonnen eine psychokardiologische Versorgung am DHM zu entwickeln.

Als Prof. Beckmann 2008 Dekan der Fakultät für Sportwissenschaften wurde, verfügte die Fakultät über 7 Professuren bei über 2000 Studierenden. Hauptaufgabe war die Anzahl der Professuren zu erhöhen und darüber auch wissenschaftlichen Output und Internationalität zu stärken. Dies war nur möglich durch eine inhaltliche Erweiterung unter Hinzunahme der Gesundheitswissenschaften. Angesichts einer bewegungsarmen Gesellschaft und daraus resultierenden Zivilisationskrankheiten war die Kombination von Sport und Gesundheit naheliegend. Zum Ende der 2. Amtszeit von Prof. Beckmann war die Fakultät für Sport-und Gesundheitswissenschaften auf 12 Professuren angewachsen und verfügt inzwischen über 16 Professuren in Erstmitgliedschaft.

All diese Arbeiten gingen einher mit der Entwicklung von jungen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern. Die äußerst fruchtbare Zusammenarbeit mit ihnen erlebt Prof. Beckmann immer wieder als einen der schönsten Aspekte der Arbeit an der Universität: „Besonders freut mich, dass von meinen über 40 Doktorand*innen und Habilitand*innen inzwischen 6 selbst zu Professor*innen ernannt wurden.“

 

Kurzbiographie

seit 2021 Aufbau einer Akademie für Nachwuchsführungskräfte für die starcode GmbH
2020 - 2021 Internationalisierungsbeauftragter der TUM Fakultät für Sport- und Gesundheitswissenschaften
2008 - 2013 Dekan der Fakultät für Sport und Gesundheitswissenschaften, TUM
2006 - 2021 W3 Professur, Ordinarius für Sportpsychologie in der Fakultät für Sport- und
Gesundheitswissenschaften der TUM
2006 - 2021 Mitglied des Fakultätsrates, Fakultät für Sport und Gesundheitswissenschaften, TUM
1999 - 2002 Direktor des Instituts für Sportwissenschaften, Universität Potsdam
1998 - 2002 Mitglied der Senatskommission für Forschung der Universität Potsdam
1998 - 2002 Mitglied des Fakultätsrates, Fakultät für Geisteswissenschaften, Universität Potsdam
1997 - 2006 Professor (C3) für Sportpsychologie, Institut für Sportwissenschaften, Universität Potsdam
1993 Visiting Scholar an der Florida Atlantic University U.S.A. (Center for Complex Systems)
1990 - 1995 Heisenberg Stipendiat der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DfG)
1988 Habilitation in Psychologie, Universität Mannheim und Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität
München (1992), Dr. hab. Venia Legendi für Psychologie
1984 - 1990 Wiss. Mitarbeiter (Projektleiter) am Max-Planck Institut für Psychologische Forschung
München 
1984 Promotion in Psychologie zum Dr. phil. an der Universität Mannheim; Thema:
Kognitive Dissonanz. Eine handlungstheoretische Perspektive
1980 - 1983 Wiss. Mitarbeiter am SFB 24 der Universität Mannheim (Leitung Martin Irle)
1980 Diplom in Sozialwissenschaften mit Schwerpunkt Psychologie an der
Ruhr-Universität Bochum (RUB); Thema: Popper's Logic of the Situation as an
explanatory model for the social sciences

 

Mitgliedschaften und Auszeichnungen

Mitglied im Recognition Committee for EuroPsy Specialist Certificate in Sport Psychology für die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Psychologie (seit 2021)

Vorsitzender des President’s Visiting Committee der University of Alberta, Canada (2014-2017)

Mitglied des wissenschaftlichen Beirats des Department of Nutrition, Exercise and Sport Sciences, University of Copenhagen, Denmark, (2015-2016)

Präsident der Arbeitsgemeinschaft für Sportpsychologie e.V. (ASP) (2005-2009), Mitglied des Präsidiums (1998-2005), Mitglied (seit 1998)

President der Arbeitsgemeinschaft Schneesport an Hochschulen (2002-2004)

Mitglied der American Psychological Association (APA) (1986-2010)

Mitglied der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Psychologie (DGPs) (seit 1984)

 

Preise und Ehrungen

  • TUM Emeritus of Excellence (2021)
  • Adjunct Professor, University of Limerick, Ireland (2020)
  • Goldene Ehrennadel der Arbeitsgemeinschaft für Sportpsychologie (asp) (2019)
  • Honorary Professor, University of Queensland, Australia (2018)
  • Adjunct Professor, Southwest Jiaotong University, Sichuan, PR China (2007)
  • Silberne Ehrennadel des Deutschen Skiverbands (DSV) (2003)    
  • Heisenberg Stipendium der DfG (1990)
  • Jungwissenschaftlerpreis der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Psychologie (DGPs) (1984)

Erläuterungen zu Preisen und Ehrungen finden Sie hier (pdf-Datei zum Herunterladen 251 KB).

 

Die 10 wichtigsten Veröffentlichungen

Andonian, C., Freilinger, S., Achenbach,S., Ewert, P., Gundlach, U., Hörer, J., Kaemmerer, H., Pieper, L., Weyand, M., Neidenbach, R., & Beckmann, J. (in press). The "Well-being paradox" revisited: A cross-sectional study of quality of life in over 4,000 adults with congenital heart disease. BMJ Open.

Wergin, V.V., Zimanyi, Z., Mesagno, C., & Beckmann, J. (2018). When Suddenly Nothing Works Anymore Within a Team – Causes of Collective Sport Team Collapse. Frontiers in Psychology, 9: 2115 doi: 10.3389/fpsyg.2018.02115.

Andonian, C., Beckmann, J., Biber, S., Ewert, P., Freilinger, S., Kaemmerer, H., Oberhoffer, R., Pieper, L., & Neidenbach, R.C. (2018). Current Research Status on the Psychological Situation of Adults with Congenital Heart Disease (ACHD).  Cardiovascular Diagnosis and Therapy, 8(6):799-804. doi: 10.21037/cdt.2018.12.06

Kellmann, M., Bertollo, M., Bosquet, L., Brink, M., Coutts, A., Duffield, R., Erlacher, D., Halson, S., Hecksteden, A., Heidari, J., Kallus, W., Meeusen. R., Mujika, I., Robazza, C., Skorski, S., Venter, R., & Beckmann, J. (2018). Recovery and performance: Consensus statement. International Journal of Sports Physiology and Performance, 13, 240-245.

Mirifar, A., Beckmann, J., & Ehrlenspiel, F. (2017). Neurofeedback as Supplementary Training for Optimizing Athletes’ Performance: A Systematic Review with Implications for Future Research. Neuroscience and Biobehavioral Reviews, 75, 419-432.

Cross-Villasana, F., Gröpel, P., Doppelmayr, M. & Beckmann, J. (2015). Unilateral Left-Hand Contractions Produce Widespread Depression of Cortical Activity after Their Execution. PloS One, 10 (12), DOI: 10.1371/journal.pone.0145867.

Beckmann, J., Gröpel, P., & Ehrlenspiel, F. (2013). Preventing motor skill failure through hemisphere – specific priming. Cases from choking under pressure. Journal of Experimental Psychology. General, 142, 679-691.

Nixdorf, I., Frank, R., Hautzinger, M. & Beckmann, J. (2013). Prevalence and determinants of depression in German high achievement athletes. Journal of Clinical Sport Psychology, 7(4), 313-326

Kuhl, J. & Beckmann, J. (Eds.) (1994). Volition and personality: Action and state orientation. Seattle: Hogrefe & Huber Publishers.

Kuhl, J. & Beckmann, J. (Eds.) (1985). Action control: From cognition to behavior. Heidelberg, Berlin, New York: Springer.