SCIENTIFIC CURRICULUM VITAE ANDRZEJ JERZY BURAS

Feb. 1971	Masters Degree in Theoretical Physics
	(Warsaw University, Prof. J. Namyslowski)
Oct. 1972	PhD in High Energy Theoretical Physics
	(Niels Bohr Institute, Prof. P. Olesen)
Dec. 1972 - Sept. 1975	Postdoctoral Fellow at the Niels Bohr Institute
Oct. 1975 - Sept. 1977	Fellow in the Theory Group at CERN
Oct. 1977 - Feb. 1979	Visitor in the Fermilab Theory Group
March 1979 - Apr. 1979	Visitor in the SLAC Theory Group
May 1979 - Nov. 1981	Associate Scientist in the Fermilab Theory
	Group
Dec. 1981 - Aug. 1982	Staff Member of the Fermilab Theory Group
Sept. 1982 - Oct. 1988	Staff Member of the Theory Group at MPI
	for Physics (Munich)
Nov. 1988 - Mar 2012	Full Professor in the Physics Department at
	the Technical University Munich
Oct. 1990 - Sept. 1992	Head of the Theory Group in the Physics
	Department of TUM
Oct. 2002 - Sept. 2004	Head of the Theory Group in the Physics
	Department of TUM
Oct. 2007 - Sept. 2011	Leader of the Focus Group Fundamental Physics at the
	TUM at the Institute of Advanced Study
Oct. 2007 - Sept. 2011	Project Leader of the Research Area C in the
	Excellence Cluster: Origin and Structure of the
	Universe

Awards (A. J. Buras)

2021 Member of the Warsaw Scientific Society (Warsaw)

2020 Max Planck Medal of the German Physical Society

2013 Foreign member of the Polish Academy of Sciences (Warsaw)

2012 Emeritus of Excellence at the Technical University of Munich

2011 Foreign member of the Polish Academy of Arts and Sciences (Cracow)

2010 European Research Council (ERC) Advanced Grant 2011-2016

2010 Schrödinger Gast Professur (Vienna)

2010 Ordinary member of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities

2008 Carl von Linde Senior Fellowship at the TUM Institute for Advanced Study

2007 Smoluchowski-Warburg Medal of the German and Polish Physical Societies

2004 Distinguished Lecturer of the University of Alberta

Membership in Advisory Committees

Member of the Program Advisory Committee (SPSC) at CERN (1985-1988).

Member of the European Committee for Future Accelerators (ECFA), CERN, Genf (1986-1992).

Member of the Referee Committee "Middle Energy", BMFT, Bonn (1989-1993).

Contact person for High Energy Physics at TU and LMU Munich (since 1990).

Member of the Habilitation Committee at the Physics Department of TU Munich (since 1990).

Member of the Program Advisory Committee of the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory, Batavia, USA (1991-1995).

Member of the Editorial Board of Physical Review D (1992-1995).

Chairman of the Appointing Committee for C3-Professorships in the Physics Department of TU Munich (1993).

Chairman of the Appointing Committee for C4- Professorships in the Physics Department of TU Munich (1995).

Elected Referee for DFG (Elementary Particle Physics) (1996-2004).

Member of the Physics Research Committee at DESY (1998-2002).

Member of the European Committee for Future Accelerators (ECFA), CERN, Genf (2002-2006).

Member of the Editorial Board of Physical Review Letters (2002-2005).

Member of the Advisory Committee (BELLE) at KEK Japan (2006-2010).

Member of the Advisory Council of the TUM-IAS (2008-2013).

Member of the Research Board of the Excellence Cluster Universe (2006-2012).

Membership of Organizing Committes (A. J. Buras)

Member of the Local Organizing Committee of the Rochester Conference in Munich (1988).

Chairman of the Organizing Committee of the Ringberg Workshop: "Hadronic Matrix Elements and Weak Decays" (1988).

Chairman of the Organizing Committee of DESY Workshop: "Waiting for the Top Quark" (1990).

Chairman of the Organizing Committee of the Ringberg Workshop: "Advances in Non-Perturbative and Perturbative Techniques" (1994).

Chairman of the Organizing Committee of the DESY Workshop "Discrete Symmetries" (1996).

Member of the Local Organizing Committee of the Photon-Lepton Conference in Hamburg (1997).

Chairman of the Organizing Committee of the DESY Workshop "CP Violation" (2000).

Coorganizer of the Ringberg Workshop: "Heavy Flavours" (2003)

Member of International Advisor Committee's for various conferences (approximately 50).

Coorganizer of the Ringberg Workshop: "Heavy Flavours" (2006)

Coorganizer of the Ringberg Workshop: "Flavours and Jets" (2009)

Coorganizer of the Workshop: "Indirect searches for New Physics at the time of the LHC" At the Galileo Galilei Institute (2010)

Books

Hadronic Matrix Elements and Weak Decays

A. J. Buras J.-M. Gérard, W. Huber

Proceedings of the Ringberg Workshop on Hadronic Matrix Elements And Weak Decays, Ringberg Castle, Germany, 17-22 April 1988

Heavy Flavours

A. J. Buras, M. Lindner World Scientific, 1992

Heavy Flavours II

A. J. Buras, M. Lindner World Scientific, 1998

Gauge Theory of Weak Decays

The Standard Model and the Expedition to New Physics Summits A. J. Buras

Cambridge Press, 2020

Supervision of Diploma's and PhD's

Diploma Theses 35 PhD Theses 34

PhD Students who made significant contributions to particle physics and continue research at various Universities

Wolfgang Altmannshofer (UC Santa Cruz), Monika Blanke (Karlsruhe Institute for Technology), Christoph Bobeth (TU-Munich), Gerhard Buchalla (LMU, Munich), Robert Fleischer (Nikef, Amsterdam), Martin Gorbahn (Liverpool Univ.), Stefania Gori (UC Santa Cruz), Ulrich Haisch (MPI-Munich), Sebastian Jäger (Sussex Univ.), Alexander Lenz (Siegen Univ.), Manfred Lindner (MPI-Heidelberg), Ulrich Nierste (Karlsruhe Univ.), Emanuel Stamou (Dortmund Univ.), Andreas Weiler (TU-Munich).

PhD Students who made significant contributions to particle physics but decided to leave research

Björn Duling, Thorsten Ewerth, Katrin Gemmler, Michaela Harlander, Tillmann Heidsieck, Stefan Herrlich, Markus Lautenbacher, Manfred Münz, Anton Poschenrieder, Nicolas Pott, Christoph Promberger, Felix Schwab, Herbert Steger, David Straub, Selma Uhlig, Michael Wick.