Robert K. Frhr. von Weizsäcker

Prof. Dr.

Former professor for economics - finance and industrial economics
TUM School of Management

weizsaecker(at)tum.de 

Short biography

Robert K. von Weizsäcker, born in 1954, studied Mathematics and Economics at the University of Bonn, received a Ph.D. at the London School of Economics / University of Bonn in 1985 and attained the Habilitation at the University of Bonn in 1990.

From 2003 to 2020 he has been Professor of Economics, Public Finance and Industrial Organization and since 2020 he is Emeritus of Excellence at Technical University of Munich. Previously he had research and teaching positions at the University of Bonn, the Humboldt-University of Berlin, the University of Halle-Wittenberg, and the University of Mannheim. He was a Faculty Member of the Munich Intellectual Property Law Center at the Max Planck Institute for Intellectual Property, Competition and Tax Law, as well as a Visiting Scholar at Cambridge University, Université Catholique de Louvain, the London School of Economics, Stanford University, Oxford University, and the International Monetary Fund in Washington D.C.

Prof. von Weizsäcker is Research Fellow of the Centre for Economic Policy Research in London, the ifo-Institute for Economic Research in Munich, and the Institute for the Study of Labor in Bonn. He was a Heisenberg Fellow of the German National Science Foundation and a Member of the German Scientific Council.

He has published numerous books and articles, particularly in the fields of public economics (public debt, tax reform, and social security financing), corporate finance (business valuation and risk analysis), microeconomics (income and wealth distribution, decision theory), population economics, and the economics of education.


Other:  He is an International Chess Grandmaster (ICCF) and Honorary President of the German Chess Federation.

Robert K. Frhr. von Weizsäcker

Prof. Dr.

Ehemaliger Ordinarius für Volkswirtschaftslehre, Finanzwissenschaft und Industrieökonomik
TUM School of Management

weizsaecker(at)tum.de 

Kurzbiographie

Robert K. von Weizsäcker, geboren 1954, studierte an der Universität Bonn Mathematik und Volkswirtschaftslehre. Der Promotion 1985 an der London School of Economics folgte 1990 die Habilitation an der Universität Bonn.

Von 2003 bis 2020 war er Inhaber des Lehrstuhls für Volkswirtschaftslehre, Finanzwissenschaft und Industrieökonomik an der Technischen Universität München. Zuvor lehrte er an der Universität Bonn, der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, der Universität Halle-Wittenberg und der Universität Mannheim. Er war Faculty Member des Munich Intellectual Property Law Center am Max-Planck-Institut für Geistiges Eigentum, Wettbewerbs- und Steuerrecht sowie Visiting Scholar an der Cambridge University, der Université Catholique de Louvain, der London School of Economics, der Stanford University, der Oxford University sowie am International Monetary Fund in Washington D.C. Seit 2020 ist er Emeritus of Excellence der Technischen Universität München.

Prof. von Weizsäcker ist Research Fellow des Centre for Economic Policy Research in London, des ifo-Instituts in München und des Institute for the Study of Labor in Bonn. Er war Heisenberg-Stipendiat der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft und Mitglied des Wissenschaftsrats.

Zu seinen Forschungsschwerpunkten zählen die Gebiete Finanzwissenschaft (Staatsverschuldung, Steuerreform und Finanzierung der sozialen Sicherungssysteme), Bildungsökonomik (Finanzierung, Organisation, Chancengleichheit und Arbeitslosigkeit), Bevölkerungsökonomik (demographischer Wandel und Alterssicherung), Ökonomische Ungleichheit (Einkommens- und Vermögensverteilung) sowie Unternehmensfinanzierung (Unternehmensbewertung und Risikoanalyse).


Sonstiges:  Schachgroßmeister (ICCF) und Ehrenpräsident des Deutschen Schachbundes.