Fritz Busch

Prof. Dr.-Ing.

Former professor for traffic engineering and control
TUM School of Engineering and Design

born January 7, 1953


Homepage

Scientific work

Fritz Busch is a civil engineer with diploma and doctorate from the Technical University of Karlsruhe (now KIT). He was elected full professor and director of the chair for traffic engineering and control at Technical University of Munich (TUM) from 2003 until 2019. At retirement, he was appointed Emeritus of Excellence and member of TUM’s Senior Excellence Faculty, where he serves at strategic and mobility related topics.

Until 2021 he was also a visiting professor at Nanyang Technological University of Singapore (NTU), and currently still serves as program principal investigator for TUMCREATE, the TUM-NTU joint research platform for public transport, electro-mobility, automation and connected transport systems.

In his research with a team of around 35 scientists in Munich and Singapore, Fritz Busch concentrated and still works on topics around data fusion, traffic modelling and control for all modes of private and public transport, including new forms of active mobility. Understanding the different perspectives of mobility actors in the light of emerging technologies, growing ecological challenges and a substantial change in societal mobility behaviour is the fundament for his application-oriented research in the context of holistic systems thinking.

In line with his broader view on the area of mobility and transportation systems, Fritz Busch established two new international study programs at TUM, namely on "Transportation Systems" (in Munich) and on "Transport and Logistics" (in Singapore), both being the first ones of their scope and, since the beginning, facing a very high demand of students worldwide. He has supervised over forty doctoral candidates (PhD), four of them meanwhile full professors, and he participated in several doctoral and strategic committees at various universities.

Before taking over responsibility in academia in 2003, Fritz Busch spent 13 years at Siemens ITS (Intelligent Traffic Systems), with his last 4-years position being member of the business unit’s board and vice president for international products and systems marketing of intelligent transport systems, and before that being responsible for the unit’s industrial research in traffic control and advanced traffic management.

Before this, Fritz Busch worked 4 years as researcher and consulting engineer in the transportation and automotive field, developing traffic control solutions for cities and motorways, and working on system architectures within the European milestone project for future transport, PROMETHEUS.

Fritz Busch is internationally recognized as an expert in application-oriented transport modelling and control, and intelligent transport systems. He has published his research in more than 150 articles as author and/or co-author as well as by numerous public presentations. He received the highest German award in transport, was head of the national ITS-committee of the German Road Transport Research Association, member of the scientific advisory board of the Federal Highway Research Institute and delegate to several national and international committees like e.g. the World Road Association PIARC or the board of trustees of the Deutsches Museum.

 

Short biography

1980 Civil Engineer (Dipl.-Ing.), University of Karlsruhe (now KIT)
1980 - 1986 University of Karlsruhe (KIT): Research Assistant and Doctorate
Research Focus: Traffic flow theory and modelling
1986 - 1990 SSP Consult, Stuttgart: Consulting engineer and project manager;
Fields of activity: Traffic planning and traffic engineering
1990 - 2002 Siemens AG, Intelligent Traffic Systems (ITS), Head of department,
board and vice president; Areas of responsibility:
Research, system consulting, global product management
2003 - 2019 Full professor for traffic engineering and control, TU Munich
2016 - 2021 Visiting professorship at Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

 

Memberships and honors

Head of the Telematics Committee of the German Research Assosation "Forschungsgesellschaft Straßen und Verkehr" (FGSV)

Scientific Advisory Board of the German Federal Institute "Bundesanstalt für Straßenwesen" (BASt)

Delegate of the World Road Associatione PIARC/AIPCR

Scientific Advisory Board of the Research Cluster Railway Technology in Bavaria

Board of the European network ITS-Edunet

Member of the Board of Trustees of the "Deutsche Museum", Munich

Advisory Board of the German Center for Future Mobility

 

Awards

  • TUM Emeritus of Excellence (2019)
  • Max-Erich-Feuchtinger / Bruno-Wehner-Denkmünze (1994)
  • Dambach-Preis (1987)

You can download "Explanations of honors and awards" here [PDF 215 KB]

Fritz Busch

Prof. Dr.-Ing.

Ehemaliger Ordinarius für Verkehrstechnik
TUM School of Engineering and Design

geb. 07.01.1953


Homepage

Wissenschaftliche Arbeit

Fritz Busch ist Bauingenieur mit Diplom und Doktortitel von der Technischen Universität Karlsruhe (jetzt KIT). Von 2003 bis 2019 war er Ordinarius und Leiter des Lehrstuhls für Verkehrstechnik an der Technischen Universität München (TUM). Mit Beginn seines Ruhestandes wurde er zum Emeritus of Excellence und Mitglied der Senior Excellence Faculty der TUM ernannt, wo er sich mit strategischen und mobilitätsbezogenen Themen beschäftigt.

Bis 2021 war er außerdem Gastprofessor an der Nanyang Technological University of Singapore (NTU) und ist derzeit noch als Program Principal Investigator für TUMCREATE tätig, der gemeinsamen Forschungsplattform von TUM und NTU für öffentlichen Verkehr, Elektromobilität, Automatisierung und vernetzte Verkehrssysteme.

In seiner Forschung mit einem Team von rund 35 Wissenschaftlern in München und Singapur konzentriert sich Fritz Busch auf die Themen Datenfusion, Verkehrsmodellierung und -steuerung für alle Arten des privaten und öffentlichen Verkehrs, einschließlich neuer Formen der aktiven Mobilität. Das Verständnis der unterschiedlichen Sichtweisen von Mobilitätsakteuren im Lichte neuer Technologien, wachsender ökologischer Herausforderungen und einer substanziellen Veränderung des gesellschaftlichen Mobilitätsverhaltens ist die Grundlage für seine anwendungs­orientierte Forschung im Kontext ganzheitlichen Systemdenkens.

Im Einklang mit seiner erweiterten Sichtweise auf den Bereich Mobilität und Verkehrssysteme hat Fritz Busch zwei neue internationale Studiengänge an der TUM eingerichtet, nämlich "Transportation Systems" (in München) und "Transport and Logistics" (in Singapur), die beide die ersten ihrer Art waren und von Anfang an auf eine sehr hohe Nachfrage von Studierenden weltweit stießen. Er hat mehr als vierzig Doktoranden betreut, von denen vier inzwischen ordentliche Professoren sind, und er hat in mehreren Promotions- und Strategieausschüssen an verschiedenen Universitäten mitgearbeitet.

Bevor er 2003 Verantwortung in der Wissenschaft übernahm, war Fritz Busch 13 Jahre lang bei Siemens ITS (Intelligent Traffic Systems) tätig, zuletzt vier Jahre als Mitglied der Geschäftsgebietsleitung und Vice President für das internationale Produkt- und Systemmarketing von intelligenten Verkehrssystemen und davor als Verantwortlicher für die industrielle Forschung des Geschäftsgebiets für Verkehrssteuerung und modernes Verkehrsmanagement.

Davor war Fritz Busch vier Jahre lang als Forschungs- und Beratungsingenieur im Verkehrs- und Automobilbereich tätig. Er entwickelte Verkehrssteuerungslösungen für Städte und Autobahnen und arbeitete an Systemarchitekturen im Rahmen des europäischen Meilensteinprojekts für den Verkehr der Zukunft, PROMETHEUS.

Fritz Busch ist international anerkannt als Experte für anwendungsorientierte Verkehrsmodellierung und -steuerung sowie intelligente Verkehrssysteme. Er hat seine Forschung in mehr als 150 Artikeln als Autor und/oder Co-Autor sowie in zahlreichen öffentlichen Vorträgen veröffentlicht. Er erhielt die höchste deutsche Auszeichnung im Bereich Verkehr, war Leiter des nationalen ITS-Komitees der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Verkehrsforschung, Mitglied des wissenschaftlichen Beirats der Bundesanstalt für Straßenwesen und Delegierter in mehreren nationalen und internationalen Gremien wie z.B. dem Weltstraßenverband PIARC oder dem Kuratorium des Deutschen Museums.

 

Kurzbiographie

1980 Dipl.-Ing., Bauingenieurwesen, Universität (TH) Karlsruhe
1980 - 1986 Universität (TH) Karlsruhe: Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter, Promotion Forschungsschwerpunkt:
Verkehrsflusstheorie und Modellierung
1986 - 1990 SSP Consult, Stuttgart: Beratender Ingenieur und Projektleiter, Aufgabenfelder: Verkehrsplanung und
Verkehrstechnik, Stuttgart
1990 - 2002 Siemens AG, Intelligent Traffic Systems, Abteilungsleiter, Mitglied der Geschäftsleitung und Vice-President;
Aufgabenfelder: Forschung, Systemberatung, globales Produktmanagement
2003 - 2019 Ordinarius für Verkehrstechnik, TU München
2016 - 2021 Gastprofessur an der Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

 

Mitgliedschaften und Auszeichnungen

Leiter Telematik-Ausschuss der Forschungsgesellschaft Straßen und Verkehr (FGSV)

Wissenschaftlicher Beirat der Bundesanstalt für Straßenwesen (BASt)

Delegierter im Weltstraßenverband PIARC/AIPCR

Wissenschaftlicher Beirat des Forschungs-Clusters Bahntechnik in Bayern

Vorstand des europäischen Netzwerks ITS-Edunet

Kuratoriumsmitglied des Deutschen Museums, München

Beirat des Deutschen Zentrums Mobilität der Zukunft

 

Preise und Ehrungen

  • TUM Emeritus of Excellence (2019)
  • Max-Erich-Feuchtinger / Bruno-Wehner-Denkmünze (1994)
  • Dambach-Preis (1987)

Erläuterungen zu Preisen und Ehrungen finden Sie hier (pdf-Datei zum Herunterladen 251 KB).