Andrzej J. Buras

Prof. Dr.

TUM Department of Physics
Former professor of theoretical elementary particle physics

born October 26, 1946

Scientific work

Andrzej Buras is recognized as one of the world’s leading scientists in applied quantum field theory. His research in this area is aimed at constructing a “flavor theory” (diverse quarks and leptons). As part of this, he examines various extensions of standard models of elementary particle physics with an emphasis on flavor-changing meson decay and violation of CP symmetry. He carried out studies on tests of the standard model and alternative proposals as part of super symmetry, Little Higgs models and models with extra spatial dimensions. With more than 210 academic publications, he is one of the most cited elementary particle theorists in Europe. Andrzej Buras is also committed to the organization of workshops for the German Electron Synchrotron (Deutsches Elektronen Synchrotron, DESY) and Schloss Ringberg research centres. Even after becoming a professor emeritus, he continues to conduct research at the TUM Institut for Advanced Study (IAS) as the 2011 recipient of an ERC grant (2011-2016).


Short biography

until 1971 Study of physics, University of Warsaw
1972 Doctoral studies in high energy theoretical physics, Niels Bohr Institute, University of Copenhagen
1972 – 1975 Postdoctoral fellow, Niels Bohr Institute, University of Copenhagen
1975 – 1977 Fellow in the Theoretical Physics Group at CERN, Geneva
1977 – 1982 Visitor, staff member, associate scientist at Fermilab (Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory), USA
1982 – 1988 Scientific associate, Max Planck Institute of Physics, Munich
1988 – 2012 Professor of theoretical elementary particle physics, TUM
2008 – 2011 Carl von Linde senior fellowship, Institute for Advanced Study, TUM


Memberships and honors

Member of the programming and organization committee, CERN (1985-1988)

Member of the organization committee of the International Conference on High Energy Physics, Munich (1988)

Member of the referee committee “Middle Energy” Federal German ministry of research and technology, Bonn (1989-1993)

Member of the programming and organization committee, Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory, USA (1991-1995)

Member of the editorial board, Physical Review D Journal, American Physical Society (1992-1995)

Review board for elementary particle physics, German Research Foundation (DFG) (1996-2004)

Member of the Physics Research Committee of German Electron Synchrotron (DESY) research centre (1998-2002)

Member of the editorial board, Physical Review Letters magazine, American Physical Society (2002-2005)

Member of the European Committee for Future Accelerators (ECFA), CERN, Geneva (1986-1992, 2002-2006)

Member of the advisory committee (BELLE), KEK High Energy Accelerator Research Organization, Japan (2006-2010)

Research group leader of the excellence cluster “Origin and Structure of the Universe”, TUM (2007-2011)

Leader of the focus group “Fundamental Physics”, TUM-IAS (Institute for Advanced Study) (from 2007)

Member of the advisory council, TUM-IAS (from 2008)

Member of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities (from 2010)

International member of the Polish Academy of Punditry (PAUZA), Krakow (from 2011)

International member of the Polish Academy of Science (PAN), Warsaw (from 2013)

Distinguished lecturer, University of Alberta (2004)

Schrödinger guest professor, University of Vienna (2010) 

Member of the organization committee of the Ringberg Workshop “Hadronic Matrix Elements and Weak Decays” (1988), “Advances in Non-Perturbative and Perturbative Techniques” (1994), “Heavy Flavors” (2003, 2006), “Flavors and Jets” (2009)

Chair of the organization committee of the DESY (German Electron Synchrotron) Workshop “Waiting for the Top Quark” (1990), “Discrete Symmetries” (1996), “CP Violation” (2000)

Co-organizer of the workshop “Indirect searches for New Physics at the time of the LHC”, Galileo Galilei Institute for Theoretical Physics (GGI) (2010)



  • Polish-German Marian Smoluchowski-Emil Warburg Physics Prize, collaborative award from the German and Polish Physics Societies (2007)
  • ERC Advanced Investigators Grant (2010)

You can download "Explanations of honors and awards" here [PDF]