Jörg Eberspächer

Prof. Dr.-Ing.

TUM Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Former professor of communication networks

born October 8, 1945


Scientific work

The name Jörg Eberspächer is closely linked with research in telecommunications systems and networks. His work focuses on the architecture of future optical and mobile networks, the “future Internet”, the planning of networks, communications technology in motor vehicles as well as the social aspects of information technology. In 1990 he was called to take a position in the newly established Department of Communication Networks at TUM. The boom in communications technology (mobile phones, Internet, etc.) also influenced his extensive research and instruction. For this, he focused on the development and analysis of new kinds of communication procedures and systems for broadband optical and wireless networks, self-organizing networks and methods of planning failsafe networks as well as the application of network technology in motor vehicles, for example. Jörg Eberspächer was the chair of the Information Technology Society (ITG) within the Association for Electrical, Electronic and Information Technologies (VDE) – which in 2006 conferred on him an honorary membership. From 2002 to 2005 he was the dean of his department. He strongly supports interdisciplinary discourse on new developments in information technology, to which he dedicated himself in the Münchner Kreis (Munich circle), in the VDE and the two national academies: Leopoldina (German National Academy of Sciences) and acatech (National Academy of Science and Engineering). Despite his retirement, his advice continues to be sought out by ministries, private industry and boards of trustees of research institutions both in Germany and abroad. Jörg Eberspächer works in various aspects of TUM, such as the Center for Digital Technology and Management (CDTM), and is chair of the booster club EIKON e. V. Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jörg Eberspächer Former professor of communication networks born October 8, 1945 1965-


Short biography

1965 – 1970 Study of electrical engineering, University of Stuttgart
1971 – 1977 Research associate in Department of Telecommunications Engineering, University of Stuttgart
1976 Doctorate in electrical engineering, University of Stuttgart
1977 – 1990 Managerial positions in research and development, Siemens AG
1990 – 2012 Professor of communication networks, TUM


Memberships and honors

Senior member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), USA (since 1990

Member of the “Münchner Kreis e. V.”, a non-profit, supranational organization for communications research (since 1991), chair of the Research Commitee (1993-2014) 

Co-founder of the Center for Digital Technology and Management (CDTM), Munich (since 1998)

Member of the board of management (1997-2002) and chair (2000-2002) of the Information Technology Society (ITG) of the Association for Electrical, Electronic and Information Technologies (VDE)

Visiting professor, Tongji University, China (2000)

Member of the advisory board at the Scientific Institute for Infrastructure and Communication Services GmbH (WIK), Bad Godesberg (since 2000)

Chair of the board of trustees of the Fraunhofer Heinrich-Hertz-Institut (HHI), Berlin (2003-2015)

Member of the board of trustees of the Fraunhofer Institute for Open Communication Systems (FOKUS), Berlin (2002-2014)

Member of the academic advisory board of the German Museum, Munich (since 2005)

Member of the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina (since 2005)

Chair of the academic advisory board of Lakeside Labs, Klagenfurt, Austria (since 2008)

Member of the National Academy of Science and Engineering (acatech) (since 2009)


Research projects

Coordinator of the German Research Foundation (DFG) priority program 1102: Adaptivity in Heterogenous Networks with Wireless Access (2000-2006)

Participation in the DFG Collaborative Research Centre Transregio TR-28: Cognitive Cars – Kognimobil (2005-2010)

Participation in various research projects of the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (2003-2012)



  • Oskar von Miller Prize from the German Museum, Munich (2004)
  • Honorary member of the VDE (2006)
  • Society Award from the Information Technology Society (ITG) (2012)
  • Fraunhofer Medal of the Fraunhofer Society (2015)

You can download "Explanations of honors and awards" here [PDF] 


Key publications

Eberspächer J, Kiese M, Wessäly R: “Optimization of Communication Networks”. In: Production Factor Mathematics. Editor: Grötschel, M u. Mehrmann, V 2010; Seite 139-156.

Hanka O, Spleiß C, Kunzmann G, Eberspächer J: “A novel DHT-based network architecture for the Next Generation Internet”. In: Eighth International Conference on Networks . Editor: Dini P. 2009 Seite 332-341.

Eberspächer J, Vögel H-J, Bettstetter C, Hartmann C: GSM - Switching, Services and Protocols. Chichester: John Wiley & Sons, 2008.

Nagel R, Eichler S, Eberspächer J: “Intelligent Wireless Communication for Future Autonomous and Cognitive Automobiles”. In: Proc. IEEE Intelligent Vehicles Symposium (IV) . Editor: IEEE. 2007 Seite 716-721.

Eberspächer J, Schollmeier R: “First and second generation of peer-to-peer systems”. In: Peer-to-Peer Systems and Applications. Editor: Steinmetz R u. Wehrle K. 2005; Seite 35-56.